The craziness of modern society

10000 years ago I would have had to hunt and gather all food available to me by myself.
1000 years ago I would have had to hunt and gather all food available to me within my tribal group.
500 years ago I would have had to exchange food with neighboring tribes in hostile conditions.
300 years ago I would have had to participate in the regional village marketplace to get ahold of food variation.
50 years ago I would have had to walk into a supermarket.

What about today?

The real benefit of technological advancement in my eyes is that it exposes craziness/weirdness in modern mass society. A supermarket is a public distributor’s warehouse. And it’s fully engrained into us that the last segment of delivery is upon us. We walk into the warehouse, search for the stuff we want, take it out of the shelves, kindly wait in line to pay and then “ship” the goods home.
Time is my most precious asset. The goods I buy are compensated via money exchange, but my time isn’t. It’s wasted again and again in line. To me this is madness. I have a deep feeling of urgency to get stuff done everyday. It doesn’t feel right to wait in line like a zombie.

How come people don’t question that? How come people commute everyday killing precious time while being the chauffeur of themselves? I’m an avid, obsessive reader. Imagine you could spend your commute reading. Imagine how much more you’d know and how many mistakes you could avoid with that extra knowledge.

The answer to why people accept that kind of craziness is simple: it used to be an advancement just yesterday. And because most people aren’t really awake, but zombies chasing mirages, they keep at it without ever questioning the inherent weirdness.

A year ago I decided to never set foot into a supermarket again. Except for emergencies. I get food delivered weekly. It’s a combo of a smart fridge, a VA regularly checking my shared Evernote groceries note, Amazon Fresh scripts and various other things. The delivery is synced with the times where the cleaning lady is being at my house already. And she is being assisted by a vacuum cleaner robot, so that there is more free time available to her to let the laundry pickup guys in.

I like technology, because it sets free ressources and allows me to grow in ways my father and grandfather weren’t allowed to. It’s amazing, but it takes an awake mind to see the immanent weirdness of what mass society regards as normal. It’s a thin line.

See, Uber, Amazon Fresh, smart home devices, health trackers and VAs allow me the comforts of a wealthy billionaire without actually being one. But because everything goes hand in hand and feeds into everything else, I’m able to create a strong upwards spiral in my life. And this is a good thing. It’s either up or down. And there are many time brackets in every person’s day, that are being wasted with errands that could be outsourced and/or optimized.

Should you still be gathering food and filling the fridge by yourself?
Should you be an undiagnosed chauffeur of yourself or should you be the boss sitting in the back?
Should you clean your laundry and vacuum clean your home?
Should you get an education from college?
Should you follow the conservative model of marriage -> children -> house?
Should you limit seeing the world to 2 yearly vacations?
Should you become rich at 30 or at 60?
Should you leave diet decisions to Walmart and McDoanld’s?

The bottom line of my rant is: life is short. Time is tremendously precious, so outsource smart. If washing the dishes relaxes you and becomes a meditative exercise that allows you to tap into the Now and become present to the Isness of life as Eckhart Tolle calls it, all good. Keep washing the dishes. If that time could be spent in a more productive way to set yourself onto a path that’ll offer you huge chunks of being present in the future, then drop washing the dishes for good. Modern technology is a tool that allows you to do so with little ressources.

I have 3 permanent, fulltime Virtual Assistants that are located in the Philippines. I’m not dependent on them, because I train myself daily to keep my mind sharp, but I only have 2 hands and 1 brain. So they’re enormously helpful to me. They make a second option available to me. If my dad wanted to raise his levels of wealth, health and happiness he had to work harder. That’s the first option and still applicable today. But the second option is to work smarter through technological assistance. Thereby I can work hard and smart, so that I reach heights my father and grandfather couldn’t.

The craziness of modern society

3 thoughts on “The craziness of modern society

Add spark to the candle

