[Quick thought] Some things cannot be a sticking point!

Some things cannot be a sticking point!

23:49 onwards

“The ability of achieving great things comes from managing yourself very very well. Or at least well enough where you almost become compulsive about getting certain things done. You have to set a standard for yourself that is very very high and you have to manage yourself to keep your thoughts where they need to be in order to allow you to be successful at what you’re trying to do. And one way you can say “absolutely, I can” is not with your mouth but with your actions. And actions are the products of thoughts. “Am I doing this as good as I can? Can I command more from myself? Am I connecting as intensely as I can? Am I training hard enough? Can I train harder?” Your thoughts are going to be everything.

Someone can stand here today and see you going through your poses and you’re like ok either you have it or you don’t have it. But in truth who are they to say? They don’t know. They’re people that 20 years ago stood there with me and called out those poses for me just like I called them out for you today…and with each quarter turn and with each grimasse staring back at me in the mirror trying to do the right thing and demonstrate being the good athlete, “Can they see my potential? Will they believe in me?” In truth, I don’t even know those people anymore. So going forward from here today and this experience. “I posed for Kai Greene”. I have nothing to tell you. And whether I do or don’t, it’s not gonna make or break where you will go from this point on and become and what you will achieve in your life, because I don’t have no say over that, you do. So what you choose to do, what you choose to get out of this experience today, is up to you. It’s such a big job what you’re saying you wanna do, that some things cannot be a sticking point. It just can’t. Don’t let the bitch start oozing out of you. “I’m not gonna talk about how stressful my diet is anymore.” Even certain pieces of our despair….we just don’t have time for that.

I’m a powerful dude. I can command into existence what I say and I’m not afraid to do the work necessary to make it so. There’s a certain kind of resilience and toughness needed that you’re also gonna have to accept. It comes along with it. I can’t be a king and walk around looking like a peasant and be doing things that are expected from a peasant. If I’m the king, I’m the king and I expect of myself to do the things that a king does. So do your abs, stay on your diet. When you say you’re gonna do something, follow through with it. And don’t get distracted by the flash. The lesson in this is that you become able to do something when you say, you’re gonna do it.”

—- Kai Greene

Yes! THIS is what the mindset looks like.

(Note: This post originally appeared on my now closed Tumblr blog, which was intentioned to be the place for my shorter thoughts and ideas. After reading Gary Vaynerchuck’s new book “Jab, jab, jab, right hook” I’ve come to the conclusion that I wasn’t speaking the right slang for Tumblr and therefore re-imported those posts here as I still find them valuable as food for thought. I hope you enjoy those, too.)

[Quick thought] Some things cannot be a sticking point!

Add spark to the candle

